Your five …

5 FIVE 5
Five, for me, has always been a special number. It was the age I got my first bike for a start! Not only that, how many children were in some of my favourite books when I was growing up? You got it. Five (can you guess which books?).
In the natural world five is an important number: did you know that almost all amphibians, reptiles, and mammals which have fingers or toes have five of them on each hand and/or foot?
According to Aristotle, along with other ancient Greek philosophers, the universe is made up of five classical elements: water, earth, air, fire, and ether.
In Cantonese, ‘five‘ has a similar pronunciation to their ‘not’ (character: 唔) and if it should appear before a lucky number, such as “58”, the result is said to be unlucky.
If you’re into religion (or if you’re not), here are a few ‘five facts’:
Jesus purportedly had five wounds.
For the Jews, the Khamsa, an ancient hand shaped symbol with five fingers, is used as a protective amulet. The very same symbol is also popular in Arabic culture, known to protect from envy and the evil eye.
Muslims pray to Allah five times a day and there are five pillahs of Islam.

In the Sikh religion five is also sacred, The Guru Gobind Singh prescribed five symbols and on top of that there are five deadly evils:

Kam (lust), Krodh (anger), Moh (attachment), Lobh (greed), and Ankhar (ego).
Friday, for me the best day of the week, is the fifth! What more can I say?
So the number five. It could, if you wanted, lead you to a whole world of imaginings, wonderings and even wanderings!!!
Hence, my challenge for you:
What are the five elements in your life that really make you tick? 
Is it your friends?
Is it landscapes?
Arguments?
TV?
Sports?
Politics?
What are the five things that, without which, your life would be empty? Tell me, please; feel free to leave your ideas as a comment below …
4 thoughts on “Your five …

  1. Hi Davey, your writing in this post makes me think of Fictocriticism. If you haven’t heard of it, it is quite a small movement, so to speak (though it is not really a movement) which originated in Australia. The idea is to blend fiction with the critical, use different voices – those of anecdote and memory, but also of academia, or encyclopaedia. It is often associated with feminist writing, but it is not just for women, and it is not just about women. Wikipedia quotes Derrida: “We must invent a name for those “critical” inventions which belong to literature while deforming its limits.” – I think you could make a really cool piece of fictocritism if you researched some theory on the importance of 5 in the instances you give, and then connect it to your childhood memories. What do you think of the idea? I am really interested in writer’s responses to the notion of fictocriticism because I am taking a course in it at the moment… All the best

    1. Hey Lottie. Thanks for the comment. I’ve had a look at fictocriticism and actually it doesn’t sound a million miles from my book that I’ll be releasing shortly, though no feminist elements in mine. It is a critique of our modern society paralleled with the a study of the five most essential elements of our soul. When you look into it, what is most important in life can basically be broken down into five different streams, each different but each intrinsically linked. These five are not only important to each of us as a unique person, but to all people as a single social entity. I won’t go into it too much here, suffice to say that the books goes into it further. I’ll be releasing snippets here on the blog from time to time until I publish, so keep your eyes open.
      I like the idea you mention re. childhood memories (though this is also touched upon in my book) and see it as a good opening for a short story. What type of thing did you have in mind?

  2. great to hear about your book..congos and good luck..

    the five elements..umm..
    first- it would be my mom. i think most people would agree with me that one’s mother is the source of all positive energy and all the elements that constitute comes from her, so she definitely would be your greatest support and pillar of strength. without her life is barren and dark and thorny.

    second- it would be my friends. i have never believed that the more friends you have the better it is. i have a gang of 4.. and we call ourselves the fantastic 4s. if there can be anyone with whom you can let your hairs down, share your griefs and sorrows, joys and prosperity without any qualms or bitterness then it would be your friends.

    third- it would be my collection of books. books take you into some distant land.. away from this weary land..

    fourth-it would be my laptop. sometimes some materialistic things give you better source of escape than any thing else.

    fifth- being a new blogger, i guess.. writing blog has become interesting and to some extent a source of strength and support as you interact with unknown people with similar likes.. you start developing a support system that grows each day..

    1. Hey. Thanks for the comment 🙂 Sounds like a good five, I have to say I am with you on all of them and I don’t think there is anything neccessarily wrong with attachment to material possessions either. They can be outlets for our expression in so many ways. As you say: books and laptops; I couldn’t imagone (now) being without either.

Please leave a reply

